RSS

Common History Tents (story #40)

06 Jan

Well, hi there, everyone.  Are you through crying bitter tears because the story wasn’t written yesterday?  No?  Okay, we’ll wait.

Ready?  Swell.  So last week, we were a bit saddened that not one single reader out there commented on the story.  One of our readers suggested that perhaps people were a bit stymied by the more pensive tone of the poem and were simply ruminating on it all week (was it funny?  Was it serious?  What did it mean?  What did it not mean?  What is the matrix?).  If that is the case, then perhaps we at the club can take solace in the possibility of creating a container for thought, a vehicle for reflection, a more thoughtful if less vocal readership.

Well, that’s all well and good, but it does nothing for our instant gratification complex.  Therefore, we are imbuing this week’s story with subliminal messages to make you all comment on it.  So there.

COMMON HISTORY TENTS

Art by Geoff Strout

Art by Geoff Strout

Colin was not an ordinary boy.  He was, in fact, the ugliest boy ever created.  Buck teeth, coke-bottle glasses, elephant ears, an enormous Adam’s apple; these were actually his more attractive features.  No one understood what had happened to Colin, because his parents were the most attractive people you’d ever want to meet.  His mother and father had never worked a day in their lives because when people saw how beautiful they were, they simply gave them money.  Colin, conversely, merely inspired people to throw dirt clods at him.   Needless to say, he grew up quite sad in his hometown of Surrey With The Frinjontop in jolly olde England.

“Oy!” the local boys would shout after him.  “What you so ugly for, you tosspot?”  (editor’s note: in an attempt to give this story a sense of realism, we will be writing all dialogue in authentic British dialects, with regional colloquialisms, spellings, and slang.  And, by that, I mean we’re going to make it all up and not care who notices.)  They would follow him around all day calling him “Ninnyboots” which is of course a popular British colloquial slang.

Most days Colin would just shrug off their insults and try not to look in any mirrors.  But, one fateful Thursday, as a particularly large dirt clod struck him in the back of the head, he decided he had had enough.

My goodness, the fight that ensued was massive.  Quite epic, really.  But this story isn’t very funny so far and a fight scene isn’t going to help that so instead we’re going to go check in with Colin’s beautiful parents instead because, at that very same moment, they were in their gigantic tent (everyone in Surrey With The Frinjontop lived in tents, it was a very progressive town) watching an Eddie Izzard DVD, like all good Bitish people do, and that is much funnier than a fight scene.

“Eddie Izzard sure is funny, isn’t he, dear?” said Colin’s father, Rock Buttress, to Colin’s mother, Stereoscope Sparkle-Buttress.

Nodding happily, she replied, “yes, he is, my diddly-pop.  But not nearly as attractive as you are.”

“That’s true, me durky,” Rock said, frowning a little.  “It is a sniggly shame that so many people are so much less attractive than we are.”

“Oh, Rock,” said Stereoscope, “you just care too much.  That’s your problem.  Really your only problem at that.  Otherwise you’re just swucky.”

“Now, pooter-pie,” said Rock, continuing the authentic British pet name-calling, “you really mustn’t fawn over me so.  It embarrasses me.  And I am slightly less attractive when I blush.”

“That is odd,” said Stereoscope as though they had never had this conversation before, “because blushing actually makes me even more attractive.”

“How true that is, muffin noodle,” Rock said, flashing her a devastatingly handsome smile.  With that, they both dissolved into fits of uncontrolled, yet extremely good-looking, laughter.

“I do believe we get funnier every day, squishy-bum,” Stereoscope said once they had gotten control of themselves.

“So we do, my nifty clock-paddle,” Rock replied, wiping away tears of laughter.

Suddenly, the front door opened and in trudged Colin.  He was covered in dirt, his glasses were broken in two places, and he was limping.  He looked at his parents, who stopped smiling and simply stared at him.  With sudden ferocity, he raised an accusing finger and pointed at them.

“This is all your fault!” he cried, his voice shaking with rage and humiliation.  “You gave birth to me without passing on a single attractive gene!  How is that even possible?  How can the two best-looking people in the world combine their DNA strands and come up with someone as ugly as me?  I mean, honestly, how did you dooftopodes manage that one?”

“Oh my,” said Stereoscope.  “I fear we have let you believe an untruth all your life.  My darling ugly boy, I think it is time you learned the facts.”  And with that, Colin’s parents sat him down and told him where he really came from.

Right about now you are probably thinking he was adopted or something.  Well, nope, the truth was that his parents actually made him in the basement one day twelve years earlier when they didn’t have anything better to do.  I may have forgotten to mention that, aside from being sickeningly attractive, they were also mad scientists.  However, if you go back to the beginning, you’ll note that I did tell you that Colin was “created” rather than born.  His teeth really came from a male rabbit (also known as a “buck,” see how we teach you things here at the club?), his eyes really were made from coke bottles, his ears were from an elephant (don’t worry, they didn’t kill the elephant, they just took part of his ears and, let me tell you, he had ears to spare), and his Adam’s apple was…  Well, okay, his Adam’s apple was actually a tennis ball, but I couldn’t very well have mentioned that at the beginning of the story without giving away the big surprise ending, could I have?

“You know,” Colin said upon learning all of this, “the fight scene probably would have been funnier.”

THE END

“Hey,” you’re probably saying to yourselves right now, “with their goofy sense of humor there at the club, I was sure that the ‘subliminal message’  would actually be something totally overt and probably over the top.  How could I have missed it?”

Well, ha ha ha, we actual did something subtle for once so, whether you liked the story or not, you now get to play the fun game of figuring out where the subliminal messages lie.  That’s right.  The Story of the Week is also a game this week, and potentially a bigger waste of time than online solitaire.  Go us.

See you in six,

The SotWC

 
15 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

15 responses to “Common History Tents (story #40)

  1. Natalie

    January 6, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    Okay– so I wasn’t sure where Colin came from exactly– but I did have a feeling Stereoscope hadn’t birthed him because that might have spoiled her figure. 🙂

    Yes, Surrey With The Frinjontop did make me laugh out loud.

    And it is high time I saw some of Eddie Izzard’s comedy. I’ve only seen him in that Bogdanovich movie ‘The Cat’s Meow’, playing Charlie Chaplin.

     
  2. Eric Jansen

    January 7, 2010 at 2:04 am

    It was a wonderfully entertaining story but all through it I could only worry about how disgustingly sugary sweet you would be in a romantic relationship with somebody. Seriously, all those mind-throbbingly gooey-ooey terms of endearment you had the parents toss back and forth seemed to come to you WAY too easily! I shudder at the possibilities. : )

     
  3. Abby

    January 7, 2010 at 6:04 am

    Do the tents in Surrey With the Frinjontop have isinglass curtains you can roll right down in case there’s a change in the weather?

    Why is that still in my head?? Make it stop. Make the agony stop!!!!!

     
  4. gaye

    January 12, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    I got the message! Obviously.

     
  5. gaye

    January 12, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    I got the message. Obviously.

     
  6. storyoftheweekclub

    January 12, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    Does leaving the same comment twice mean that you found both the subliminal messages?

     
  7. Trog Pint

    January 12, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    Does the subliminal message have anything to do with squishy-bum clock paddle? I’m not sure I got it and it makes me feel like a dooftopod.

     
  8. meg

    January 12, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    Hmm!Liked the story. I’m still thinking! New thing, so it takes time.

     
  9. Lisa

    January 13, 2010 at 4:10 am

    I am still waiting for the answer to the puzzle. The only subliminal message I got was the obvious, and very sad, plea for comments in the intro. Which clearly worked. Still, I hate not knowing the answer to the puzzle, and I am too lazy to figure it out. Or perhaps, I too am a dooftopod.

     
  10. storyoftheweekclub

    January 13, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    Sorry, Lisa, I’m gonna let it dangle here for a while and see if anyone figures it out (I kn ow Meg likes puzzles…), but I will tell you that Trog is on the wrong track with squishy-bum clock paddle. And, yes, both of you are dooftopods.

     
  11. Jessica

    January 15, 2012 at 7:47 pm

    Did you ever reveal what the message was?

     
    • storyoftheweekclub

      January 17, 2012 at 1:44 am

      You know, Jess, contrary to my hopes that people would keep wondering about it, everyone just kind of forgot about it! So, now that it has officially been two years since this story was originally published, I will let the secret out.

      The first one is so simple I was surprised no one got it, even with my clever misdirection of actually mentioning tents in the story. It was simply this: the rather enigmatic name of the story, “Common History Tents” is an anagram for the phrase “comment on this story.”

      The next subliminal message was a bit more subliminal, but if you look at the first letter of every paragraph in the story, I think you’ll get it.

      That’s how we roll here at the club; we take two years to solve the mysteries for you.

       
  12. Ankahara

    April 24, 2013 at 3:59 am

    Damn! I nearly thought i’ll have the chance to give the solution 3 years after!

     

Leave a comment